The Parish Education Committee is a group of appointed St. Mary’s parents who work with the Principal and Pastor in the running of the school.  They are responsible for ensuring that Archdiocesan policies are implemented, as well as for setting local school policy for St. Mary’s School.  This policy implementation ranges from staffing, uniforms, parent participation,  to building maintenance.  Additionally, the committee oversees the school budget, coordinates fundraising efforts, and coordinates needed repair or construction for identified school areas.  The Parish Education committee also plays a vital role in hiring the staff of the school (in consultation with the Principal and the Pastor).  The PEC usually meets on the 4th Thursday of each month – if you would like to attend a meeting, please arrange ahead of time with the chairperson.

There are seven positions in the Parish Education Committee – five of which are elected by the parish community and two of which are appointed by the Pastor.  These positions are generally appointed by the Pastor. The members elect a chairperson, and take on specific positions among themselves.  These roles include a chairperson, a vice-chair, a secretary, a treasurer, two people in charge of fundraising and maintenance, plus two additional “members at large”.  Elections for each position are held every two years .

Please visit to check out the Policy Manual regarding Parish Education Roles and responsibilities. 

If you are interested in becoming a PEC member, elections are held each year in May.  A nominating sub-committee is appointed, who then invite and receive nominations from the Parish community.  Those eligible to hold office as a member of the PEC are practicing Catholics, approved by the Pastor, who have reached the age of twenty-one (21).  PEC Committee minutes will be posted here so you can keep up to date on what is discussed at PEC meetings.

Members of the 2017/18 Parish Education Committee:

Rhonda Sexsmith Chairperson
Nicki Bullock Vice Chairperson
Melissa Godbout Treasurer
Megan Peterson Secretary
Collette Whalley  CISVA Delegate

Ado Gannon

Lori Johnson


Member at Large

Member at Large